2020 Classified Awards EOY: Marie Miller (left) and Beth Horne (right) were named the 2020 Classified Employees of the Year for UGA Griffin. They are pictured with Interim Assistant Provost and Campus Director, Dr. David Buntin.

The University of Georgia Griffin campus recently named Beth Horne and Marie Miller as the 2020 Classified Employees of the year. The designation was made at the 31st Annual Employee Recognition Ceremony held on Tuesday, September 29.

Ten employees were nominated for the Classified Employee of the Year Award- Clay Bennett (Crop and Soil Sciences), Brett Byous (Entomology), Faye Chatman (Academic Programs), Jill Cunningham (Plant Genetic Resources Conservation Unit), Beth Horne (Center for Urban Agriculture), David Mann (Center for Food Safety), Marie Miller (Finance and Administration), Daniel Nordstrom (Field Research Services), Carol Picard (Plant Pathology) and Ilea Rockwell (Facilities Management Division).

The award is presented to classified personnel who have made the most significant impact on the programs at the UGA Griffin Campus. This is reflected through their superior job knowledge and performance, work attitude, initiative, dependability, and time management. In order to become a nominee, each individual is selected by his or her unit and must have been an employee on campus for three consecutive years. After all nominations are submitted, the award recipients are determined by a committee of their peers.

During the ceremony, Dr. David Buntin, Interim Assistant Provost and Campus Director for UGA Griffin, congratulated all the honorees on their nominations.

Beth Horne

Beth Horne is an Event Coordinator with the Center for Urban Agriculture, a position she has held for eight years.  She has been with UGA Griffin for 13 years total. In her position, Horne works with County Extension Agents and Extension Specialists, as well as the outreach programs within the Entomology and Horticulture units on the Griffin campus. She assists in coordinating their programing needs including marketing, registration, materials for workshops and web-based support.

In addition to her job, Horne also serves on the Campus Events Committee, the Griffin Bulldawg Club, and the Marketing Team and is always eager to lend a hand whenever needed.  Wade Hutcheson, the former Spalding County Extension Coordinator and Ag Agent, described Horne as “the poster child for customer service in all she does. Beth is highly efficient and multi-tasks to help plan and facilitate events making it appear easy and brings participants a pleasurable and excellent experience.”

Marie Miller

Marie Miller has been employed at the University of Georgia Griffin campus since 1996. Over the years her titles have included Accounting Assistant, Senior Accounting Assistant, Personnel Specialist I, Human Resources Specialist I and currently she is serving as a Human Resource Specialist II in the Business Office. She is also the direct HR contact for the entire campus where she maintains records and personnel reports for all employees, including faculty, postdoctoral research associates, graduate students, and technical support personnel. Miller has also served on the Campus Events Committee for many years. 

 Stephanie Moore, UGA Griffin’s Business Affairs Manager, described Marie as an outstanding employee who is invaluable to the Business Office. “Marie has been a constant source of reassurance for me and often suggests new ideas when we face challenges. She has taken every task that I have put in front of her and accomplished it in a way that can only be described as exceptional. Without her experience, work ethic and agreeable attitude, I am sure that the Business Office would have greatly suffered.”

Also recognized during the ceremony were the Meritorious Service Award recipients. Awards were presented to faculty and staff who have served the campus for 10, 15, 20, 24 and 35 years.

The following people were recognized for their years of service.

10 Years

Bochra Bahri (Plant Pathology), Bobby Goss (Food Science and Technology), Mussies Habteselassie (Crop and Soil Sciences), Gentian Kostandini (Ag and Applied Economics), and Patrick McCullough (Crop and Soil Sciences).

15 Years

 Donna Brown (Food Science and Technology), Ryan Hodgson (Field Research Services), David Mann (Center for Food Safety), and Alison Payton (Food PIC).

20 Years

Robert Beck (Field Research Services), Matthew Evans (Crop and Soil Sciences), and Vijaya Mantripragada (Crop and Soil Sciences).

25 Years

Donna Kent (Plant Genetic Resources Conservation Unit), and Jim Quick (Entomology).

35 Years

Glenn Farrell (Food Science and Technology).

Posted in: